In Celebration of Matilda

I always find it impossible to say which of Roald Dahl’s books is my favorite, but it’s usually a close tie between Fantastic Mr. Fox and Matilda.

Here’s a link to a lovely little interview from NPR with Roald Dahl’s daughter Lucy Dahl, in which she reads an excerpt from a letter he wrote to her in 1986, when he was finishing the first draft of Matilda:

http://www.npr.org/2013/11/14/245222230/roald-dahl-wanted-his-magical-matilda-to-keep-books-alive

She gives a great description of the hut where he did his writing. I love hearing about authors’ work spaces and Roald Dahl’s writing hut in Great Missenden is one of my favorites. I’m also continually inspired hearing about Roald Dahl’s work ethic, and his commitment to sitting down every day to write from 10-12 and 3-5. I could use a dose of that kind of discipline in my own writing life currently!

Here’s a picture of Dahl in his fabulous writing hut:

Roald Dahl at work

EH

One thought on “In Celebration of Matilda

  1. Pingback: Top 10 children’s books I’m looking forward to reading to my daughter | The Rebel Mum

Leave a comment